Wedge Reviews

Read What Customers Say About the Wedge Mouthpiece

Title: Focus and Flexibility (2019-06-14)
Rating: 5
Author: Mark M. 

Excellent. I already had a delrin version of the same mouthpiece, and it seems to me I get more focus, flexibility, and stability using the brass/silver version. It's also a very well-made product, with fine customer service.

***

Title: excellent! (2019-06-14)
Rating: 5
Author: Joseph S.

Great feel and wonderful sound: the 67mdv is an easy, great playing transition from a Bach 1.25C

***

Title: Two Piece Trumpet Backbore (2019-06-14)
Rating: 
5
Author: 
Wayne F. 

I am using this regular weight backbone with 65MV, playing on an Adams A10. Love tones, very versatile, works for me!

***

Title: Remarkable (2019-06-14)
Rating: 
5
Author: 
Russell M. 

It’s funny every horn player is his own worst critic but with this mouth bass I noticed immediately the power that it put out with the least amount of effort my son came to visit and he used to play trumpet when he was very young and can still play the C scale he put my old Shilkie 14a4a in my Bach Stradivarius and attempted the scale his tone and quality was what I expected and was very weak and then he put the wedge mouthpiece into it and this enormous sound came out again it’s funny that I could immediately hear it in another person Who never plays trumpet it is truly a remarkable mouthpiece

***

Title: Nice mouthpiece (2019-06-13)
Rating: 
5
Author: 
Marc R.

I found it easy to switch to the 66 MDV from a Bach 5C "S" with a 25 throat and 24 backbore. Switching has increased my endurance. My range has not changed but it is easier to play at the top of my range. Very well made and comfortable mouthpiece! 

***

Title: My Musical Reunion (2019-06-12)
Rating: 5
Author: John P. 

After 10 years without playing my horn, an opportunity came along to entice me back. Just then, Dr. Dave’s posts about the “Wedge” appeared. With the recommendation of a long-time (neither of us is old) friend, Prof. Berinbaum at UBC, I decided to give it a try. I also found a good teacher and am amazed at how quickly my “chops” are returning. It is not a substitute for practicing but it is no spendy “Dumbo’s Feather”, either. While others in the section are complaining about fatigue & discomfort after a long rehearsal or concert, I am relatively comfortable. After 6 weeks, my range has grown faster than I expected. Thank you, Dr. Dave for helping me to find the right one to get. 

***

Title: 65MV (2019-06-10)
Rating: 5
Author: Wayne

My first impression playing Arban’s Characteristic Studies, the 65MV feels very soft and does allow for better range, slotting in upper register. Love it.

***

Title: Wedge 5G trombone mouthpiece(2019-06-10)
Rating: 
5
Author:
 Ty W. 

The wedge is as advertised. Improved upper register, flexibility and endurance.

***

Title: Happy with Purchase!! (2019-06-07)
Rating: 5
Author: Mark D.

I bought my mouthpiece because I struggled with stamina during gigs. I constantly had to wipe off my old mouthpiece and had trouble losing seal out the side of my mouth. First I noticed is my seal problem is fixed and my lips hold in the wedge design. Also, as an added benefit, I felt I always had to tip my head back to play to keep horn up which Dave suggested I try a 5 degree angle. My horn feels much more comfortable to stand and play now. Lastly, I recently tried my old mouthpiece on a challenging song, after my lips felt gassed I put the wedge design back in my horn and was able to play it easily through 2 more times!! I love it. Give it a try!!

***

Title: Plastic 66mv (2019-06-06)
Rating: 5
Author: daniel M.

Very good , it has made it much easier to play the low notes after I have been playing high notes. There are a few notes however around high C that I still sometimes pitch wrong, the mouth piece did take a little adjustment.

***

Title: Bass trombone mouthpiece review (2019-06-06)
Rating: 5
Author: Nathan H.

The mouthpiece itself is very comfortable. I played on a bach 1/2G and Schilke 59 after that. I always had discomfort and noticeable pain and could never figure out why. With the my new Wedge, those issue have subsided immensely and I enjoy playing my instrument more. 

***

Title: This top mouthpiece is very good (2019-06-06)
Rating: 5
Author: gabriel t.

Ay the first, I felt strange but after a minutes my mouth start to feel good playing with this mouthpiece. My sound changed a lot in a really good way. My articulations en every note was more clear than before so I recommend this mouthpiece 100%. Thanks Dave. 

***

Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Robert W.
United States
September 13th, 2018

Comfortable mouthpiece
Plastic gives a little bit of diffusion to the tone. However the mouthpiece is comfortable and responsive.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

William H.

United States
September 12th, 2018

The Wedge 65ES Delivers The Goods….
This my first Wedge mpc experience, and everything touted on the website, I experienced. My endurance has increased, not only while practicing, but also during performance. My flexibility has increased as evidenced by running through numerous Arban and Hering etudes with more accuracy than ever before. The comfort of the unique Wedge rim allowed increased response, especially at soft volume levels. The sound I hear behind the bell seems to have more core, and my high end notes lock in more securely and feel extremely solid when playing them. I can’t recommend the Wedge mouthpiece enough!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Rod H.

United States
September 12th, 2018
Very nice surprise
I bought the piece to help with endurance, nice surprise that it did that and is the most comfortable piece I own by far, makes me want to play even more. Rod

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Richard P.

United States
September 10th, 2018

Cornet Back bore with a 25 Throat
After consultation with Dr. Dave I purchased this item to use with a 66 MDV Trumpet top to replace my Giardinelli 3vm cornet mouthpiece. I have used the same mouthpiece for almost 45 years so I was a little apprehensive. The process was very easy and I am very pleased with it.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Charles P. from United States
September 6th, 2018
Extremely comfortable mouthpiece 66MDV
This mouthpiece is exactly what I was looking for. I was lucky to find it in Dr. Dave’s “scratch and dent” section (although I’m hard-pressed to find a single scratch or dent), but I would have happily paid full price. I’ve been going back and forth between a more conventional mouthpiece and a Wedge 66M in plastic, but the plastic was too grippy for my tastes. Switching to the slightly deeper cup and the more comfortable silver plate made this mouthpiece feel like a perfect match right away, and it’s only feeling more comfortable by the minute.
***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

mason d.
United States
September 5, 2018
Great product!
The rim shape immediately darkened my sound and added a core to my upper register that I didn’t have before!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Jeffrey G.

United States
September 1st, 2018

XT 104 Trombone Screw Rim
As soon as I put this rim on my lips I sensed a noticeable improvement. My sound was more full with more core. Overall it feels easier to get around the horn. Range is improved both low and high. At times I was using larger 105 and 106 rims in the past in order to play the low range more easily, but with the way the Wedge rim is curved to fit my face I can use a smaller rim down low, which also improves my endurance and high register. I noticed that my articulation became cleaner with less clammed notes too! I can safely say that I won’t be going back to my old mouthpieces. The Wedge is here to stay!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Mack H.

United States
August 31st, 2018
Chuck Findley MS mouthpiece
I’ve been using a custom Wedge 65.5 S for big band lead; it really cuts through. But when I need a fuller sound with more color, I go to the Findley. It’s also extremely comfortable on the chops and still has lots of range when needed.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

John G.

United States
AUG 29TH, 2018
65S Trumpet Top
I have a couple other Wedge mouthpieces, on my large bore horns and wanted the same Wedge feel in a shallow cup to use on Eb/D, F/G, and Piccolo. I am getting better range with a fuller sound than on traditional mouthpieces. Next I want to try an ES cup and also explore a very deep cup for a more orchestral sound on a C trumpet….great mouthpieces and Dave is very patient about answering questions.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Paul M.

United States
August 28th, 2018
Outstanding mouthpiece – 67MDV
Great mouthpiece, and easy adjustment! Improved response in all registers. I hope to get one for my piccolo trumpet soon.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Christopher S.

Canada
August 28th, 2018
Custom top
I recently ordered a custom top from Wedge Mpc. Since Dave has all of my previous custom tops on file on his hard drive, this latest top was a simple throat size change and was a breeze. From the first email thru receiving the top, everything was handled as expected – EASY.

Christopher S. verified customer review of Chris Smith Order 7-7-18
***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Sava S.

Germany
August 27th, 2018
B5C 40
What a fantastic mouthpiece – I am very happy! Thanks Dr. Dave!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

eric b.

United States
August 18th, 2018
New Wedge Design by Dr. Dave – Custom M2CD-22 Gold Top
This thing is killer Dave! I have used it all summer and believe we have found the final solution! Thanks for your great work in getting to this final design!

eric b. verified customer review of Custom M2CD-22 Gold Top, Engraved Berlin
***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Jason D.

Canada
August 18th, 2018
Great piece!
I find the 102E to be the best match for my vintage Sovereign euphonium. Dr. Dave suggested I try a slightly smaller inner diameter than I would normally play based on my own evaluation of my playing. With the Wedge rim I get the clarity and fantastic flexibility of a smaller mouthpiece, with the extra room and bigger sound provided by the oval shape. There was a bit of an acclimation period for me, but it was worth the wait. Wedge mouthpieces are different, and worth a try in my book!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Ken H.

United States
August 18th, 2018
67MD – Biggest innovation in mouthpieces in my lifetime!
I purchased a Wedge mouthpiece based on a roundup review of the top mp’s currently on the market and in hindsight that review did not fully highlight the virtues of the Wedge so I will endeavor to correct that now. I performed a “blind” A/B/C test with my 2 go-to mp’s (A Schilke 15 and Bach 1C) and the new Wedge 67MD, my go-to horn (YTR-8335) and a single piece of music. After playing all three mp’s randomly for 20 minutes, my listener preferred the Wedge each and every time. We both noticed that the Wedge had more tonal richness and robustness, that my interval accuracy was superior, and I fewer cracked notes on attack. And the ergonomic comfort of the oval cup was a major surprise! The only downside was that my range was off by about a full two tones but that appears to be due to the throat not being as large as my A & B mps so I’m waiting on a new Wedge with a throat that matches my air stream needs. I thank Dr. Dave and his company for accommodating my request for an exchange and him taking the time to answer my numerous questions. I highly recommend the Wedge and Harrison Mouthpieces Inc. for their outstanding products and customer service.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Juan B.

Australia
August 12, 1028
Wedge mouthpiece – 67RT
Great mouthpiece!. Overall better tone quality. Thanks Dr dave.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Andrew T.

United Kingdom

August 3rd, 2018
64S
Dr Dave give great communication and advice and the mouthpiece is of excellent quality and I love it. I should have switched to Wedge years ago. I heartily recommend them to all the trumpet players I know.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

David M.

United States
August 3rd, 2018
Nothing to loose and everything to gain.
I’m enjoying this experience. Did not take long at all to make the transition to this mouthpiece. Range, endurance and pitch, all have become better. Much more efficent mouthpiece. Thanks for all your input Dr. Dave.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Paul N.

Canada
July 27th, 2018
Great service and craftsmanship
Dr. Dave was fantastic in giving me advice and matching my old mouthpiece. The adjustment has been pretty smooth, and the 65RT and backbone sound fantastic. I will definitely be buying some more pieces soon.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Daniel R.

United States
July 17. 2018
Wow, quick results!
Been playing with the wedge for two weeks and saw immediate improvement. It’s not a miracle fix, but the tone, flexibility and endurance was clearly better than my Bach mouthpiece.

 

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Joseph M.

United States

July 10th, 2018
98c Gen 2
I’ve been searching for a comfortable small-bore trombone mouthpiece for the past year. After getting my first Wedge mouthpiece for my large bore (4.5g) and loving it, I decided to try one for small bore. I contacted Dr. Dave and he helped me pick what turned out to be the perfect mouthpiece for me. I am beyond satisfied. One thing that particularly impressed me was its versatility. I can quite easily manipulate the sound to play anything from lead, to commercial, and even certain orchestral parts. I will certainly be purchasing more from Wedge in the future.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Agata S.

Poland

July 4, 2018
Thank You
Dear Dave! I have used your mouthpieces for some time and I have to admit that no other thing in the world has ever made me so happy as an instrumentalist as your mouthpieces. My playing skills have developed dramatically (all aspects of playing). I have bought a few of them already and I know that this is what I have been looking for (and I have been looking for a long time). Thank You:)

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Jeb W.

United States

July 2nd, 2018
75D Horn Mouthpiece
I recently received my Wedge 75D horn mouthpiece and couldn’t be happier. It is a great compliment to the 75M that I already own. This mouthpiece has a great response and aound in all registers, and is super comfortable to play. The slurs are also incredibly smooth. Thanks, Dave!!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Roger L.

United States
July 2nd, 2018
65S – Amazing lead piece!
This acrylic top pairs perfectly with a stainless steel heavy back bore that I use for pops, lead and jazz work. The stainless steel gives it an added unique sound characteristic added to sound over brass and paired with the acrylic offers clean attacks and allows you to play soft with a warm tone. If you are looking for something different to add to your options in your playing, I recommend this set up!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Frank H.

United States
June 28th, 2018
Great for my needs
This mouthpiece is perfect for my needs. The acrylic adds to the softness and “mellowness” of the tone. it’s not as deep as say a yamaha 14F4 or something that one would ususually play on a flugelhorn to achieve the wide open tone, but because of the acrylic it makes up for it. With the wedge mouthpieces i can cheat and slightly open the sides of my embouchure to add a bit of “whisper” tone to my flugelhorn which is super cool. This mouthpiece is my 4th, and i don’t plan on stopping. every one has it’s own character and i love playing around with combinations of mouthpieces, mouthpiece materials and horns. WILL BUY MORE!!! I LOVE THESE THINGS!!!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store


Bernard K.

United Kingdom
July 1st, 2018
65S trp Top
Very good indeed, with just the right resistance My tone higher up has improved, so I’m more than satisfied. Over the last two years I’ve built up a number of combinations of cups, back bores and stems which have proved very successfull over a number of instruments I use. I have particularly ‘got-on’ with the Wedge.

***

Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

John S.

United States

June 20th, 2018
Repeat Customer
I bought my first Wedge horn rim over five years ago, and upgraded to a MWB-M3 two years ago. Both of these pieces transformed my range and endurance. Dr. Dave recently designed a custom rim for me. He took the time to understand exactly what I was looking for, and I couldn’t be more thrilled with the result. Great products and service!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Rod/Kevin H.

Canada
Better sound, and no loss of endurance or range!
I played a bach 3c with a bach strad for 20 years in various settings. A few years back I switched to a wedge B3C because a friend recommended it, but I seemed to have some tuning challenges in the upper register. I have also started to play in a jazz band and have some lead parts, so I contacted Dave to discuss some solutions. Dave recommended that I play a 66MD with a heavy weight backbore and standard shank in more legit settings. He thought that would improve my tuning and slotting in the upper register without causing me to lose range or endurance. Frankly, I have been very pleasantly surprised with the performance of this setup. I have better flexibility, better tuning in the upper register, and no loss of range of endurance. I also bought a 66FLC for my yamaha flugel and I have had similar results. I have good control of pitch and tone colour into the upper register, and since the setup is very similar to my wedge trumpet setup, it is very easy to switch instruments during shows. I could go on, but I think it is better to sum it by saying that if you have mouthpiece questions or concerns, talk to Dave. His advice is excellent, as are his mouthpieces. Thanks Dave, your mouthpieces are helping me to play to my full potential.

Kevin

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

john s.

Australia
June 17th, 2018
Very Impressed
I recently bought a 6 1/2 jazz trombone large shank and it is just what I needed. I have several Wedge mouthpieces for both small and large bore instruments and this mouthpiece possesses the typical Wedge traits of excellent production and clean articulation throughout the range. The sound is fairly bright as you’d expect but I find I can also use it in settings where a more mellow tone is required. Very good.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Guillaume D.

Canada

Perfect match
I already had The solo tuba mouthpiece i realy like. I buy used geib and new wedge pt-50 and i don’t like it. with your question You help me to found the Perfect match for my cc tuba. Bravo for the gen2. Great sound on all registre easy to play thank You. I Will buy again from you.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Adrienna B.
United States
June 13, 2018
I love the wedge 17.5 rim in gold because the gold is smooth and soft in the lips and the 17.5 gives my lips more room to move. I am impressed with the wedge rim construction; it allows the player to play for hours without severe pain and fatigue. The employees are a pleasure to ask questions about the product. Thank you!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Daniel C.

United States
June 13, 2018
5G Wedge
Phenomenal. All aspects of playing have come easier after using it.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Christian H.

Germany
June 10th, 2018
Great Mouthpiece!!
I have been playing a Wedge for three years now and just bought my second model. I am using it as principal trombone in a symphony orchestra and in wind Orchestras. It keeps the promises. I love sound, flexibility and the clear attack. Wouldn’t want to be without it. I got used to it very quickly.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Harrison R.

United States
June 8th, 2018

Outstanding
I truly enjoy my new Wedge mouthpiece. I did not have a problem converting from my old Reeves set-up to this piece. This mouthpiece is simply more comfortable than my old mouthpieces. I will be purchasing an additional top for symphonic work.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Tim Zanol

Washington USA
June 6th, 2018
Great rim
I received the rim in time for 3 hours of private lessons and it was a pleasure to play on it. It took no time at all to get used to it, actually it feels like it’s getting used to me. The articulations were crisp, intonation improved and I could have played for another 3 hours. I lead a big band rehearsal tonight and I can’t wait to see how things go. Pretty intense music so it’ll be a good test. Thanks Dr Dave for making it for me! Tim Zanol Bass trombone/Music Director Wenatchee Big Band Asst Director, Wenatchee High School Bands

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Chris L.

Canada
June 5th, 2018
Happy Customer!
I was quite surprised at how good this mouthpiece sounded. I own approximately 70 mouthpieces and this mouthpiece is different, special, unique – I would rank it in the top tier! I played my wedge mouthpiece in the orchestra and the trombone players felt they could hear me very well. It produces a clear sound, clear fast articulation with no loss of power etc… I highly recommend trying a wedge mouthpiece. Chris Lee

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Brian J.

United States
June 2nd, 2018
The 5GS for British Baritone
This mouthpiece is perfect for the British Baritone. The proper sound tone quality is easy to achieve. The Wedge design helps with range and endurance for the player. The 5 size is perfect for my Wessex BR 140.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

William M. 
United States
June 1st, 2018
A Great Playing Experience
I have come to a wonderful realization: playing a Wedge trumpet mouthpiece brings a newfound joy and musicality that I never knew was possible before. When I heard a recording of my playing at a Christmas combo gig, on first listening, I really thought “that couldn’t be me playing!” After listening over and over again, the nuances, articulation, tone and overall improvisation still baffled me. I have been playing trumpet in all genres from classical to jazz for almost half a century. I have played numerous top of the line horns and mouthpieces. No experience has equaled the Wedge. Isn’t it worth a try? You cannot and will not go wrong if you at least try one out!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Leroy B.

United States
May 31st, 2018

I purchased the 69D Trumpet Top with the intentional purpose of strengthening my embouchure. Dr. Dave personally called me to verify my order and expressed his concerns that I would not be able to play any length of sustained time, due to the size of the cup. I thanked Dr.Dave for his and concern, I appreciate his total earnest concern for me and the purchase that I requested as his customers and client. As a trumpet player who wants a big cup that forces me to actually use my inner embouchure muscles to force me to control and constrict the size of my aperture.
I am completely satisfied with my 69D Trumpet Top and expect to achieve the goal I have set. Dr. Dave Thanks! Regards, Leroy “Boz” Bosby, Jr.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Tony E.

United States
May 20th, 2018
Tony Ellis Pacific Symphony
Within 3 days of receiving my harrison 67MD mouthpiece I played Shostokovich 10 and experienced better endurance, intonation, articulation, and over all sound than any previous mouthpiece and I have tried many. It was the only mouthpiece I took on our 2 week tour of China playing Pictures at an Exhibition. Well done Dave.

***
Four Star Product Rating from our Online Store

David S.

United States
May 21st, 2018
Delrin is very interesting
POSITIVE THINGS Love the feel Endurance noticeably increased Either doesn’t require as much pressure or doesn’t feel like as much pressure NOT SO GREAT (Dr. Dave said these would be true of Delrin) Fuzzy attacks Less core to sound Harder slotting; more split notes Tone feels less centered, more diffuse

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Mark M.

United States
May 21st, 2018
Works fine as a piccolo trumpet cup
So far, so good. I’m using it with a medium cornet backbore on a Schilke P5-4 piccolo trumpet. Very comfortable and for me better than the 7 size I was using previously. Not bad switch to Drozdoff Classic cup on Bb or C trumpet.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Paul T.

United States
May 24th, 2018
Most comfortable mouthpiece I have ever played – extra endurance!
I was skeptical, but I’m glad I gave this a try. (With such a generous return policy, who could resist?) I am amazed at how comfortable this mouthpiece is to play – it almost feels like it has a cushion! Dr. Dave’s recommendation was right on the money for me. This model has a pretty deep cup, and I love the big, fat sound I get in the low register. I’m considering purchasing another, somewhat shallower cup model to use in other situations. Definitely worth the purchase price for this ol’ comeback player!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Trevor M.

United States
May 29th, 2018
Awesome Mouthpiece, Really helps with braces
Recently I bought the pierobon c trumpet top with a stainless steel two piece backbore. I love the mouthpiece and when I got braces it helped me immensely

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Stefan B.

Germany
May 30th, 2018
I’m very happy with the Mouthpiece
I’m very happy with the Mouthpiece. It works for a very wide sprectrum of Music from classical stuff, jazz, Musical or leadplaying. Congratulation!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Leonard C.

Switzerland
May 31st, 2018
1G Bass Trombone Mouthpiece
It’s working out very well. I do however “use” the Wedge slightly differently than many others. Due to a slight problem that hangs over from my previous life as a trumpet player, where I used a “smile & press” embouchure for too many years before changing to a pucker, I use the Wedge to warm-up on or simply to play instead of my usual Hammond 21BL. Using the Wedge in this manner activates the competing muscle memory of the pucker and allows me to continue using it on the Hammond. If I don’t play the Wedge for a week or so, I start noticing my “pucker” not working efficiently which causes problems when shifting from the deepest register into the upper register (above f in the treble staff to high c above that). The response in terms of resistance is similar to the Hammond, but the Hammond sounds crisper, especially tongued and generally a bit more “alive” – but it’s only something I notice after not having played the Hammond for a while. The Wedge does set me up very well for using the Hammond, so on rehearsal/concert days, I warm-up at home on the Wedge for 20-30 minutes and when I get to the hall, all is set for the Hammond. I know this is NOT recommended operating procedure, but … it works for me.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Ron C.

United States
May 18th, 2018
Amazing Custom Work!
I ordered a custom mouthpiece to be made and Dr. Dave and his staff made it to my exact specifications with the highest levels of workmanship and quality. Best of all, turnover time was extremely fast for a custom order!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Mikhail F.

Russian Federation
May 18th, 2018
Wedge stainless steel normal weight middle part
After reading Dave’s “Quality Management questionnaire” and some clarification talks and expert advice from him I understood that I had some misconceptions about effects of throat size and mass on sound, so I additionally ordered normal weight stainless steel middle part for my mouthpiece. I am using it constantly now.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Mikhail F.

Russian Federation
May 18th, 2018
Wedge mouthpieces in my life
Quite some time ago I ordered my first Wedge. The decision needed some courage. The most critical parameter for me is the cup diameter, so I took the risk and ordered my first custom (non-returnable) Wedge. It was a heavy piece Schilke 20 size. When I first tried it, the experience was unbelievable. I shared it with Dave, and he used the metaphor “driving Formula One after driving a truck” all previous life. Only, I guess, in my case “the truck” was a very big one and did not have power steering. Slightest effort or movement sent my embouchure in the correct direction, but way too much. I had to re-coordinate the whole system. It took some time, but it was well worth it. The control was complete and different and fantastic. I never experienced anything like that before. All the embouchure parameters dramatically improved in a very short time. Having had some experience with my first heavy Wedge mouthpiece, and after reading Dave’s “Quality Management questionnaire” and some clarification talks and expert advice from him I understood that I had some misconceptions about effects of throat size and mass on sound, so I ordered another three-part stainless steel piece. The result was excellent. I am still playing the equipment, completely happy with it and do not think of changing it to anything else.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Vincent M.

Ireland
May 18th, 2018
horn xxn custom mouthpiece
overall very good. maybe for added comfort a reverse angle contour as in the Stork C series horn mouthpiece that I had been using prior to Wedge. a nice broad sound in all registers for the fairly small 17.25 cup width. improved endurance even after a heavy concert or practice.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Luis F.

United States
May 18th, 2018
ST 99 Trombone Rim
A good combination: The Wedge rim fits the DE system perfectly. In three weeks, I have experienced the following. 1. a better tone, with a better core. 2. Better range, both low and high. 3. Better stability in the sound, resulting in better intonation. 4. Easier to change articulations, more response.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Reinhard Z.

Austria
May 18th, 2018
Feels Good!
I received my M17.75XN rim one day before the rehearsals for “Midsummer Night´s dream” started, and first I hesitated to use it, but then decided that this is actually the best way to try if it works. I didn’t regret it, it felt good immediately!

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Louise C.

United Kingdom
May 17th, 2018
Skeptical at first, but I love it
After much searching for a mouthpiece to suit me and trying many I filed in a wedge questionnaire and received a recommendation by email.I thought it over and decided to take a punt. I bought this along with the recommended for me trumpet top. Best thing I ever bought. I admit, I was skeptical at first and it is the most expensive mouthpiece I have ever bought. I love it.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Metin T.

Canada
May 14th, 2018
Expensive but worth it
Having used a Holton MC I bought the 70M and it was a good match. I noticed that it instantly felt more free blowing. I can say that I have more endurance playing on the wedge because it has a sweet spot and doesn’t allow you to push much past it. It took a while to get used to but when you adjust your embouchure to play there things work very well. The notes come out very nimbly. If you go outside of the sweet spot then there is not a lot of forgiveness. Initially slurring was a problem but after playing on it for about a month and a half I am finding that I have been able to adjust to the differences with no discernible difference now. I feel I am able to get a louder sound on the mouthpiece than on my Holton but am not presently convinced that the tone is what I am looking for at the higher volume levels. Hard to tell what the audience hears though. Still need to get feedback on that. Had some trouble orienting the mouthpiece during shows since the lights sparkle off the mouthpiece making it very hard to see the dot. I think I solved the problem by lining it up and putting paint marker from the mouthpiece to the horn on the bottom end so I can see it without having to flip the horn over. Not used to paying more than $100 for a mouthpiece but thought I would give it a try based on recommendation and I can’t say I am disappointed. I am a little miffed that I have to pay American prices for something that is basically produced in my back yard. $210 turned into $320 CAN. Any good horn player will tell you that mouthpieces are matched not only to the player but to the horn so my comments are all subjective. I am presently playing 2nd horn on a Berg horn and find that the low register is quite good. Easily as good on the Holton and the high register is better. This is after trying out about 30 mouthpieces to settle on the Holton.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Musy R.

Switzerland
May 15th, 2018
Tone Modifer and Chuck Findley’s mouthpiece MV (66MV)
Hello D Dave the Tone Modifer is well adapted to the shape of the mouthpiece and brings a more sober sound Chuck Findley’s mouthpiece MV (66MV) and good for my trumpet in Eb With the 10% Discount Coupon on my next order, I will order a mouthpiece B1.5C One Piece Trumpet Mouthpiece (RIDENOUR) – Plastic for my trumpet in B Greetings René

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Michael B.

United States
May 12th, 2018
Great Mouthpiece
I am late to the trombone. I started just a few weeks before my 71st birthday. Years ago I played the trumpet and was a mediocre player at best. I decided to try again with an Olds valve trombone(I needed the familiarity of valves). The additional size of the trombone mouthpiece has helped immensely and the ergonomics of the Wedge 11C are really awesome. I sound better on the valve trombone than I ever did on the trumpet. I play for my own enjoyment and no one will ever hear me play other than family but I really like what this mouthpiece has added to my playing enjoyment.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Donald C.

United States

May 9th, 2018
108G
I’ve been playing on it for two weeks. I’ve always liked the feeling of a wider rim, but always put them away because of flexibility issues. The wedge rim is different-no flexibility issues at all, in fact, it seems to make everything a little easier. I like the sound in All registers. The inner diameter of the rim feels on the small side in this size category, but has a big sound.

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Joseph B.

United States
May 8th, 2018

Wedge 3AC and 3CC Top
I am it is still in trial period But the quality is super I love the 3AC

***
Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

William T. from United States
May 7, 2018
5g trombone mouthpiece
Overall I am pleased. I’m still adjusting to it I used it to play in the pit orchestra for fiddler on the roof last week. With evening rehearsals and three performances I felt it worked very well. My low range was stronger, I’ve lost a little of my top range. Endurance was improved.
***
Four Star Product Rating from our Online Store

Bob K.

United States

Acrylic Gen 2 26D Tuba Mouthpiece with metal tone modifier ring
This mouthpiece is great for mid thru low range ..especially well suited for low notes .,optimal for playing bass parts. But the upper high treble range goes progressively flat with unacceptable intonation ..requiring a different mouthpiece for melodic treble playing. The top/bottom white dots are inadequate for orientating the proper playing position ..as they cannot be seen when attempting to play. So the metal tone modifier ring is essential ..as the fastening screw facilitates orientation by feel. My original purchase was without the tone modifier ..purchased later specifically to solve the problem of orientation. I didn’t notice much of a difference in tone, but still glad I have it ..albeit the positioning problem could have easily been solved by cutting or drilling a notch for feeling. Nobody can reliably expect any mouthpiece to be optimal for everything, so I’m not particularly disappointed with the treble range problems. This mouthpiece indisputably rules in the lower range where tubas are designed to rein anyway. Overall I’m quite satisfied, able to recommend it.

***

Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

May 7, 2018
Bernard K.

United Kingdom
Long Experience
Every item I’ve ever bought from Wedge has been first class, my latest no exception, and I consider myself a long-term customer by now – Yeah, ‘Long experience’.

***

Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

stefan S.

Sweden

11C acrylic mouthpiece with tone modifier
Incredible mouthpiece,felt a GREAT improvement from the start. No problem,whatsoever,adjusting to the wedge!

***

Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

26-4-18
Benjamin D.

United States

102E EUPH MPC (Delrin Plastic)
The plastic 102E performs about just as well as its metal counterpart. Great for cold weather performing, which I do a lot of in upstate NY. I’ve even used it to mello out the sound to play in a 4tet with woodwinds.

***

Five Star Product Rating from our Online Store

25-4-18
Luis F.

United States
ST 99 Rim Plastic
I wanted to use the benefits of the Doug Elliot System, with the innovation of the Wedge Rim. I purchase the plastic rim just as an experiment to see results.The results have been very positive. 1. My tone has more core and is denser. 2. Flexibility is better. 3. Range is more secure. 4. I can vary articulations much easier. 5. Intonation is better. 6. It is easier to play than my other conventional rim. This combo of wedge rim with the Doug Elliot cups and shanks has been great. I ordered a gold plated ST 99 rim, now that I have seen the results with the plastic rim.

***

There are no products listed under this category.