Need fitting advice? Dr. Dave is happy to help - visit our Contact Us page.

Trombone Mouthpiece Reviews

Trombone Mouthpieces (Large Shank) - Trombone Mouthpieces (Small Shank)

Bass Trombone Mouthpieces - Trombone Screw Rims

 

Trombone Mouthpieces (Large Shank)

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Show them the curve.

Date: December 2020

I have 5 Wedge mouthpieces. A 6.5 AL, 5G small shank that I use on my small bore horns. The 101G and a 4G large shank the tI use on my large bore horn. A 3G that I use on my brass trombone. I play the 5G, 101G and 3G almost everyday and enjoy them very much. I do not feel like I am straining to create a sound with them. My accuracy and playing on pitch has improved. I believe I have developed a small vibrator using these mouthpieces. I notice that when I switch back to a traditional design mouthpiece my endurance suffers and I lose control as I continue to play. I recommend all of my Wedge mouthpieces. - Ernie K. 

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: My new go-to mouthpiece! 

Date: December 2020

After reading many reviews I expected to use my mouthpiece (101G Gen 2 Large Shank Trombone) for a few weeks before making a decision; however, it actually felt great after one day. I have had it for over a month now and performed with it on multiple gigs and I must say it is the best mouthpiece I have played on. In addition to its comfort, I have a great sound wit this mouthpiece and, although I wouldn’t say my range has increased, my flexibility within my range has. My endurance is also improved, perhaps due to the comfort level. Definitely a new fan of Wedge mouthpieces! -Michael F

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: 101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece – Large Shank "Gold Plated"

Date: November 2020 

This is the 3rd 101G I have ordered, previous I have purchased a delrin and a silver plated. I really like the 101G used on a Conn 88H trbn. If I compare the silver and the gold plated mps only I myself can hear a difference. Reasons for switching is a) skin peel winter period b) I feel the rim better when the mp is gold plated. The latter is (I think) that the gold plating feels warmer, gold has better heat reflection though lower heat conductivity. Both silver and gold plating is high quality. I just sent my 102E euphonium silver plated mp back for gold plating though it is in excellent condition, looks like new. The Wedge mps are high quality mps, highly recommended! -Mans F

 

101GS Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank – Acrylic

5 star review

Title: First Wedge Mouthpiece

Date: October 2020 

My experience with the Wedge design has helped me to focus on the embouchure muscles needed to improve my aperture, resulting in a better tone. The acrylic material is comfortable to play on. -Charles P

 

4.5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: 4.5 G-my impressions

Date: September 2020

Dear Dr. Dave, Finally I have my wedges for 4.5G with anglecut rim.Already from the first time I played with it my tone is fuller and more round.With the support of the anglecut rim I have better endurance and it sounds great through the whole register.I am very happy with this mouthpiece because it's great for me as a all around mouthpiece and I highly recommend it.Thanks for helping me with the anglecut! -Tibor B

 

5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank (Discontinued)

5 star review

Title: 5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

Date: September 2020

My son loves the new Wedge mouthpiece! At first we couldn't hear a difference and he did not notice a difference playing with it. We did some experiments with multiple mouthpieces and without a doubt, the Wedge mouthpiece provided a clarity he couldn't get with the other ones. -Kathy S

 

103G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Large bore mouthpiece

Date: August 2020

it is a perfect match for my new Edwards large bore trombone. A true marriage. -Jeff C

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank – Acrylic 

5 star review

Title: The Wedge Experience

Date: July 2020

I was really overwhelmed with my new wedge mouthpiece. I adjusted really fast to it (1 day). I love the fact that the acrylic mouthpiece is very light, It was easy for me to reach the sharp notes, it is easy on the lips giving me better endurance. I play a Bach TB400B with F attachment and It goes perfect with my new Wedge(100AL 2 Gen). I would certainly encourage all trombone and trumpet players to give the wedge a try...You"ll love the comfort while playing your instrument. -Nicolas B

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: 100al mouthpiece, original Conn (Elkhart built) 8h mouthpieceConn

Date: June 2020

Excellent range and comfort. Able to articulate higher registers much more easily. Overall an excellent choice for me, coming back to playing after 35+ years. -Bill G

  

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

5 star review

Title: Fantastic Mouthpiece

Date: June 2020

Mouthpiece was shipped incredibly quickly and plays like a dream, comfort and flexibility are off the charts. I use this as a Euphonium mouthpiece and it is fantastic. -Isaac V

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Wedge Mouthpiece

Date: June 2020 

These are fantastic mouthpieces which conform better to the shape of you mouth. I have better endurance and improved upper register. Harrison Mouthpieces has excellent customer support as well -Mark T

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Gen 2 101G Trombone Mouthpiece

Date: June 2020 

Overall, I highly recommend everyone tries out the 101G and/or any other Wedge mouthpiece that fits them best. Before receiving this mouthpiece, I played on a Bach Artisan 5GS (25.5 mm cup diameter, same as Bach 5G/5GS). The 5GS tired me out too much, so I wanted to get a mouthpiece that didn’t do so without sacrificing the smaller cup diameter. The 101G accomplished this in a very effective manner. The only concern I had is that I didn’t notice any increase in range, but this issue isn’t enough to warrant a 4 star rating because my high range facilitation was easier. Overall, here’s what I observed when testing the 101G when compared to the Artisan 5GS: - more comfort - better high range execution, but not increase in range - warmer/deeper tone with a bigger sound core, but not projecting as much (as expected with the deeper cup and oval shape) - initially struggled adapting to the rim, but got used to it after 3ish days - the oval shaped rim felt “smaller” to me than the 5GS did, and playing everything below low Bb felt unorthodox for me despite a fuller, more powerful sound on each of those notes. - this might just be me, but the rim itself felt like it locked my embouchure in place more than the 5GS. I personally didn’t like this but it was a minuscule problem. Please keep in mind that I do have an abnormal embouchure, so one with a more “normal” embouchure might not experience all of the things I did. Once again, I would highly advise everyone to try a Wedge! -Grant H

 

98AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank – Delrin 

5 star review

Title: Great service

Date: June 2020

It took a few days, after that it was great. -Durk B

 

4.5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Baritone/Trombone/Euphonium has increased high range with better intonation

Date: May 2020

I've been playing on baritone/euphonium/trombone for over thirty years but have alway had a hard time having good intonation above the high Bb (C in treble clef). 95% of my music never goes that high but every now and then I would like to hit those crazy f horn notes. This mouthpiece enables well to even the double Bb (C in treble) with sufficient warm up of course. -Andrew V H

 

 3G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

5 star review

Title: Thinking outside the rim

Date: May 2020

I enjoy playing on the 3G just as much as the 4G mouthpiece. I use the 4G on a Holton 160 tenor trombone and use the 3G on my Kanstul Bass trombone. I find it very easy to switch from either horn with these two mouthpieces. No stress or strain and the tone quality remains the same. Thank you, Ernie K

 

4G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Thinking outside the rim

Date: May 2020

I had purchased two of your Wedge mouthpieces several years ago but was not in a position to give them a good trial exam. Now, I am in a much better position to say that your mouthpieces are the ones for me. There is comfort, response and most of all a tone quality that I enjoy very much. Thank you for you help. Ernie K

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review 

Title: Wedge 101G

Date: May 2020

I am enjoying my Wedge mouthpiece very much, but my experience seems a little different than some other reviewers'. Because I moved up to a slightly larger piece when I switched to the Wedge, I have not noticed an increase in range or a huge increase in stamina. However, what I like so much about this mouthpiece is that I was able to increase my cup diameter without LOSING range or endurance. I get the broader sound and flexibility benefits of a larger mouthpiece with the feel and control of a smaller one. Also, if you are reading this review right now, you are probably wondering the same thing I was when I first read reviews: how different does the Wedge feel and how long does it take to adjust? For me, the Wedge feels almost no different than the Hammond mouthpiece I was using before - it just feels like a regular, round mouthpiece. So my experience has been that it took almost no time to adjust. -Neil D

 

103G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

4 star review

Title: Promises Delivered

Date: May 2020

Originally purchased a 101G but after a month it began to feel too small. Replaced with a 103G and am very pleased. I find articulation is improved, tone is clear and no major adjustments were required to my embouchure. Downsides ... inability to test before purchase, no preferred Canadian pricing. Excellent response to concerns. -Malcolm W

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Happy.

Date: April 2020 

Great! Thanks. -Paul W

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Terrific Result

Date: February 2020

The concept of the Wedge intrigued me and although I was a little skeptical as I spoke with Doctor Dave I soon learned he was very knowledgeable and my apprehension soon dissipated. I waited for my new mouthpiece to arrive wondering if I made a good decision. It arrived and over the next few days I quickly concluded I should have acquired it years ago. My tone is clear and strong, range has improved and endurance has increased. This is a wonder. With the trial guarantee, you can’t go wrong.-Brian McG

 

5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank  

5 star review

Title: My new mouthpiece - 5G Large Shank

Date: December 2019 

I´m very satisfied with my new mouthpiece. It works fantastic together with my Shire Tenortrobone. Also very pleased with the ordering process from a fine and functional homepage to tracked delivery and good communication. I´ll order soon again. -Mikael C.

 

3G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

5 star review

Title: 3G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

Date: December 2019

It's fantastic for bastrombone in bigband. Large and solid sound without losing flexibility. Very acurate ! -Patrick D.

  

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

5 star review

Title: Love the wedge!

Date: November 2019

I am just an amateur player in community bands, but this has really helped me focus the airflow, improve tone and reduce fatigue. I am able to play with much less pressure on the mouthpiece. -Edward L.

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Gift for my friend in France.

Date: October 2019

I purchased two tenor trombone mouthpieces for my friend, Michael, who lives in France. He teaches music and his student tried the Wedge. Michael said that it was an instant improvement compared to using the traditional round Bach mouthpiece. -ROY M

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Helping my recovery

Date: September 2019

Dealing with Embouchure Fatigue Syndrome and this mouthpiece is truly helping my comeback. I go back to my old mouthpiece I’ve used for 56 years, and the Wedge just makes my playing easier, thus making my recovery quicker and more comfortable. -Barbara G.

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: 100 AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank

Date: September 2019

I was amazed how comfortable the mouthpiece felt after just a couple of days of playing with it. I’ve noticed that Even though my chops may be getting tired towards the end of a rehearsal, there is no discomfort and it doesn’t take as long to recover and continue playing without that fatigued feeling. My upper range seems more secure and has a bit more body to the overall sound. It’s still a work in progress for me, but I am very pleased and satisfied with my new mouthpiece. Thanks to Dr Dave for his help and advice on the purchase of the Wedge Mouthpiece. -Peter V.

 

101GS Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: Mouthpiece helps feel like a natural fit of embouchuer placment to mouthpiece

Date: September 2019

Immediately I could adjust to a more comfortable fit between my facial muscles and skeletal contact. Sides of embouchuer could easily come into to hug the mouthpiece and close any air gaps. That’s why I can practice longer is because my embouchuer is stretched vertically to more comfortable fit -Paul K. 

 

4G Large Shank Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Excellent mouthpiece

Date: August 2019

I found the 4G greatly improved my endurance vs my previous mouthpiece. It took about a week to get adjusted and I really enjoy using it for both parading and concerts. I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially with the August promo. -Declan K.

 

6.5AL Jazz Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank - Delrin 

3 star review

Title: A good product, a bit expensive, no miracles

Date: August 2019

I bought 6.5AL Jazz Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank - Delrin and practiced with that. My first impression is that this mouthpiece feels somehow smaller that a standard 6.5L, its shape probably helps in endurance, but requires some adaptation. All in all a good product, but it needs practice and might not be the perfect solution for everyone. I went back to my standard mouthpiece and I'd be glad to sell back this Wedge. -Michele B.

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank 

5 star review

Title: 101G Trombone Mouthpiece - happy with the change

Date: July 2019 

I play a Conn 88 in a summer-only community band. Though I try to keep my embouchure up fall through spring, I never quite have enough range nor nearly enough lip endurance. From written reviews I figured it was worth a try... the guarantee adds confidence to that decision. No hype. The Wedge is noticeably better for stamina and I think I'm hearing a brighter sound. One catch: It was like giving a 5K runner instant 10K endurance. I quite literally blistered my upper lip by going on too long, too soon. That cost me 10 days mandatory rest. I have to build up a bit more gradually. I started over on Tuesday practice for Thursday's concert. It really was nice to play the whole concert without my lip shutting down in the last 1/3rd. Other than inability to hold the last 3 Fs in the last song, I made it through without compromise. -Ted D.

 

5GS Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank (Discontinued) 

4 star review

Title: Very good.

Date: July 2019 

I love how my sound has changed. It is a lot better than before. Only problem I have is with lower notes (it is quite hard for me to get them out of trombone with beautiful sound). Overall I am very satisfied and would recomend buying. -Jure H.

 

5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Large Shank (Discontinued)

5 star review 

Title: Wedge 5G trombone mouthpiece 

Date: June 2019

The wedge is as advertised. Improved upper register, flexibility and endurance. -Ty W. 

 

6.5G Trombone Mouthpiece Large Shank (Discontinued)

Title: Very Impressed

Date: June 2018

I recently bought a 6 1/2 jazz trombone large shank and it is just what I needed. I have several Wedge mouthpieces for both small and large bore instruments and this mouthpiece possesses the typical Wedge traits of excellent production and clean articulation throughout the range. The sound is fairly bright as you’d expect but I find I can also use it in settings where a more mellow tone is required. Very good.­ -John S. (Australia)

 

Trombone Mouthpieces (Small Shank)

4.5G Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank

5 star review

Title: First experience

Date: January 2021

Much better response, much better flexibility, better high range, sound is also very good :-) I use this one for bass trumpet, tenor horn and alto trombone. I am very happy with this mouthpiece!

 

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .250 Throat 

5 star review

Title: 98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece-Small Shank-.250 Throat.

Date: December 2020

I've now found a mouthpiece that matches up with the leadpipes and bores of the King 2B horns I play on, Silvertone and Jiggs Whigham models. However, the greatest benefit I've received from this Wedge mouthpiece is the relief of the pain and pressure I've experienced for a period of about 30 years from an injury I sustained to my chops. For me, the design of this mouthpiece has allowed my chops to heal by conforming to the contour of my facial muscles. Thank you, Dr. Dave and Daniel for your help and patience. -Bruce S

 

95E Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .240 Throat 

5 star review

Title: The Difference

Date: November 2020 

It took me some time to order the mouthpiece. In 2017 I bought me a customized trombone and from this time I was looking for a MP to bring the best out of it. I heared about the Wedge but never could try it. So I spent a lot in different MP´s, some are good, some ain´t. With the last one I reached this point again where the progress stopped and make the decision to order a Wedge - I´m more than pleased. The first gig was so great, no tired lips, safety in the high range and such a good sound in the low range. I play Rath R1, but have some other trombones too... -Johann K

 

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .240 Throat 

5 star review 

Title: Excellent craftsmanship

Date: October 2020

I have been playing on a Wedge mouthpiece for only 4 months on my tenor trombone(101G) and have been so pleased, that I also bought a mouthpiece for my alto trombone/bass trumpet. I am very satisfied and in general I think that I get more core and at the same time more stamina. The sound is great and the craftsmanship is excellent. So thank You Wedge! -Robert H

 

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .250 Throat 

5 star review

Title: Perfect Lead Mouthpiece 

Date: September 2020

I called Dave about a month ago to ask about getting a better lead mouthpiece for some auditions I have coming up. His description of how each part of the mouthpiece affects the feel and capabilities of said mouthpiece were clear, concise and immensely enlightening. He couldn't have paired me with a better mouthpiece for my needs. The larger throat diameter paired with the smaller cup makes it easier to switch between my solo/section bone setup (5G-SS3). Super thrilled with the mouthpiece. -Ethan C 

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review 

Title: 100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece 

Date: August 2020

I have already got a large shank version of this wedge mouthpiece, which I like very much and would recommend it. I can play for longer with it compared to the Bach 6 1/2 AL I used before. I bought the small shank version to use with my recently acquired Alto Trombone. I am still at early stages with it but I find it comfortable and much the same as the large shank version I use on my Tenor. Thanks for the clever design! -Roderick M 

 

98AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank – Delrin 

5 star review 

Title: 98al delrin 

Date: August 2020

It’s helping me with high notes playing, but I think 100al acrylic with tone modifier would be better, which I’ve ordered already. -Nestor B

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review 

Title: Wedge mouthpiece for jazz trombone

Date: July 2020

Hi, I have ordered and received an 100AL Gen 2 trombone mouthpiece which I use on my jazz trombone. I works well as promised. stable tone, well high and low register, good tongue control. The edge at the inner rim felt sharp in the beginning. I haven't had the chance to play it in a band and so cannot evaluate sound, section blending and projection. For lead I will maybe try a 100C model later. -Mario C

 

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .250 Throat 

5 star review 

Title: 98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece-Small Shank-.250 Throat. 

Date: July 2020 

Dr. Dave, You have a first class operation, quality product, and generous return policy. -Bruce S 

 

11C Trombone Mouthpiece – Small Shank(Discontinued)

Replaced with the Gen2 97C Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank

5 star review

Title: Comfortable Mouthpiece 

Date: June 2020 

This mouthpiece is a lot more comfortable on my lips when I’m playing for long periods of time. I notice I have more endurance and my high notes seem a bit easier to achieve. It takes a few days to get used to the feeling of a wedge but it’s definitely worth the benefits once that time has passed. I have a snaggle tooth and this mouthpiece avoids pushing my lips into my tooth so that has been the biggest improvement for me. -Miranda B

  

96C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .240 Throat 

5 star review

Title: Trombone Wedge 96 C .240 mouthpiece

Date: April 2020 

Excellent experience with 1) Advice on selection 2) Delivery time )3) Results My issue was tone and upper range limitation. Both are improved with this mouthpiece. Previously I was using Bach AL 6.5 or Marcincowitz 11 C. The tone is better as is the quality of upper range to B above staff. This is using Bach 16 LT horn. I recommend a trial of a wedge if you need assistance. Dave is a competent consultant. Jack B, TN

 

96C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .250 Throat 

5 star review 

Title: 96C

Date: March 2020

I love the mouthpiece!! Awesome reaction to how I play!!! -Marvin T

 

6.75C Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .230 Throat (Discontinued)

5 star review

Title: Perfect commercial lead piece

Date: March 2020

I started using wedge mouthpieces 7 or 8 years ago after a bout with dystonia. I've been thrilled with my 5G for years now, but I was in need of a lead piece that was somewhere in-between a 6.5AL and a 7C. The 6.75C feels great and gives me the zip I need without sacrificing the body of sound that I get with the 6.5AL. -Ethan C

  

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

3 star review

Title: Good embouchure support.

Date: February 2020

In general, the Wedge trombone mouthpiece I’ve been using about three weeks provides better embouchure support than my Bach mouthpiece. As a result, my tone is firmer and sustains its quality over an extended period. -Gary G

  

5GS Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - Delrin

4 star review

Title: Delrin vs Standard 5GS Trombone Mouthpiece

Date: January 2020

I wanted to buy a spare mouthpiece to use with the horn that I keep in my office. When I saw that Dr. Dave had a discounted Delrin 5GS, I thought I'd give it a try since it would give me the same dimensions as my standard Wedge 5GS at a great price. I especially like the physical warmth of the rim. I can start playing immediately. The sound is somewhat different, but that's what I had expected given the significant difference in the mass of the two mouthpieces. Overall, I'm satisfied with the Delrin version and I would recommend it as a backup for anyone who wants a second Wedge at a great price. -Joel S

 

95E Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .240 Throat 

5 star review

Title: Trombone Wedge Mouthpiece 95E Gen 2 

Date: December 2019 

Thank you Dr. Dave! Really good job with this mouthpiece. I use it with my King 2b for commercial and jazz music. This is definitely the best mouthpiece I ever tried before! Every aspect of my playing was improved. All your information about Wedge is 100 percent true. Keep moving forward! -Beyzerov V. 

 

6.5AL Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank (Discontinued)

5 star review

Title: 6.5 AL Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

Date: December 2019 

Good projection. Solid sound. Ideal for lead. -Patrick D

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank – Delrin

5 star review

Title: 100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece 

Date: November 2019

EXCELLENT! I was after a plastic mouthpiece for the winter season and decided for a Delrin Wedge, more or less on a whim - greatest surprise in my life! Excellent attack and response, extremely consistent throughout the range, feels great on the lips, AND it definitely delivers all the advantages it promises! Thank you very much! -Lorenzo P.

 

101GS Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank

5 star review

Title: Swithing to Wedge on trombone

Date: November 2019

This mp was a great surprise. This mp brings new life to my Bach 34 with the original lead pipe I have kept. The GS cup is not a limitation at all in the lower register an I can enjoy fully for the support it gives me playing in the high register. A wish from my side, now when heating is switched on an we get low humidity inhouse, is the get an option to order the mouthpieces with gold plated rim. -Frisk M.

  

6.75C Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .230 Throat

5 star review

Title: bocchino 6.75 c piccolo shank

Date: November 2019

avevo già acquistato il corrispondente in delrin quindi sono andato sul sicuro. che dire,suono,gamma,resistenza,flessibilità,è tutto ai massimi livelli, ho accantonato ogni mio vecchio boccaglio, grazie dott.DAVE WEDGE forever -Marcello M.

 

5GS Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review

Title: Very pleased 

Date: November 2019 

Since I purchased the Wedge 5GS trombone mouthpiece, I have been very pleased with my performance. I find my control, my center of pitch, articulation accuracy and response to be better. I am pleased with the richer, fuller tone quality I hear in the resonance of my playing. I highly recommend trying the Wedge mouthpiece. -Jeremy S. 

 

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review

Title: 100AL 

Date: October 2019

The change from VB 6.5AL to the wedge 100AL was very easy. One of the biggest things was how quick my upper lip rebounded after a long practice. Also, my range is very good upper and lower. I also noticed an improvement in tone quality. Everything that I was told about the wedge mouth piece was spot on. I am very happy with my investment, and will recommend wedge mouthpieces to my friends. Thank you. -Sam S.

  

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .250 Throat  

5 star review

Title: 98C small for me but exchanged for 100AL

Date: October 2019

Recieved the 100AL few days ago and after not playing for 10 days while on vacation I returned to find it in the mail.Very comfortable right away and now on day 3 I am loving the Sound,flexibility and range very comfortable to my high Eb. This is the LS for my Conn 88h and once I order my Shires small bore I will use the 100AL SS. I hope I have finally found the mouthpiece that is perfect for me. -Steve M. 

 

101G Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review

Title: Warning: One might not be enough 

Date: October 2019 

Endurance and high range on my trombones were areas I wanted to improve. At 70 years old, muscle building is slow and limited. After reading about the Wedge, I bought one for my main axe, a Conn 88 HCL - medium/large bore with a large shank mouthpiece.. I noticed an immediate improvement in endurance, and suspected my Gs were coming a little easier. After several weeks, I was positive my endurance and range were both improving. So I ordered one for my small bore Conn 6H secondary bone and another for the scrappy Yamaha 4-valve euphonium I am beginning to fool around with. I figured I needed the help there too. Now, a couple months later, As, perhaps even B-flats are where my Gs used to be in accessability ... and I'm moving up bit by bit from there. Endurance is definitely improved. Perhaps I am doing something else differently, but I doubt it. I am giving credit to the Wedge mouthpieces, and am very grateful for their expert help in selecting the models that fit my three different situations. -Ted D. 

  

100AL Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - Acrylic 

5 star review

Title: Trb 100AL Gen 2 Acrylic

Date: September 2019 

I tested the acrylic 100AL as a substitute for Denis Wick 6BS. In principle no adjustment time needed and also (at least in my mind) I tend to agree with the commercial statements such as "less swelling", "improved stamina" etc. I find the higher register easier to reach without being "blocked" as in a smaller standard mouthpiece. (A harder case for use on the road would have given bonus points!) -Jörgen C

 

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .250 Throat 

5 star review

Title: 98C Small Shank, 0.250 throat 

Date: September 2019

This has greatly increased my endurance while playing lead parts for up to 2 hours. It has also made the upper registers a bit more accessible. The only issue I have encountered so far is with minor intonation issues, especially in the mid-low range, but I expect this will improve as I spend more time with this mouthpiece. -Kevin L 

 

96C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - .240 Throat 

5 star review

Title: Awesome

Date: August 2019

This is the last mouthpiece you will ever need!!! -Marvin t.

  

6.75C Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review

Title: A Great thing! 

Date: August 2019

I have really enjoyed playing with this mouthpiece. I am performing with a concert band, a ten piece jazz band, and a German oom pa band. This mouthpiece has helped me define my tone. You can't ask for any more than that! -Allen R.

 

6.5AL Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank 

5 star review

Title: My new Wedge 6-1/2 AL Baritone Mouthpiece

Date: July 2019

So far I'm really satisfied with my new mouthpiece. It gives a nice rounded tone and easier to punch the notes when needed. The higher and lower range is definitely cleaner and in tune. I tried my old 6-1/2 AL and doesn't even feel right against my mouth now. I'm 79 and still have a problem hitting the high notes after playing for an extended time, but better with this mouthpiece than the old one. -James P.

 

11C Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank - Delrin 

5 star review

Title: Untitled 

Date: July 2019

I am very pleased with the mouthpiece. I’ve been using it regularly since I received it and really don’t see where I would use anything else anymore. It’s extraordinarily light, feels soft on the embouchure and I haven’t experienced any noticeable difference in tone or flexibility. A+ rating from me. -SW Y.

 

100C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank  

5 star review 

Title: 100C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece 

Date: June 2019

I originally purchased an LT 100 rim for my 100C Doug Elliott mouthpiece back in the fall of 2018. I had been playing a Doug Elliott LT 100 rim since 1990. I kept going back and forth with both rims until I began to realize that the Wedge rim was much better and I didn't have any lip swelling the next day after a night gig. I ordered the 100C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece with a .250 back bore 8 weeks ago. I've been on it for nearly 3 weeks. This mouthpiece is by far the best piece I have ever played. The sound is fat throughout all the registers from pedal E's all the way up to Double High Bb's. I only wish that I had made the switch sooner. Dave, you're a genius and I'm extremely grateful for your recommendation to this piece. -Best regards, Joe P.

  

98C Gen 2 Trombone Mouthpiece - Small Shank

5 star review 

Title: 98c Gen 2

Date: June 2018

I’ve been searching for a comfortable small-bore trombone mouthpiece for the past year. After getting my first Wedge mouthpiece for my large bore (4.5g) and loving it, I decided to try one for small bore. I contacted Dr. Dave and he helped me pick what turned out to be the perfect mouthpiece for me. I am beyond satisfied. One thing that particularly impressed me was its versatility. I can quite easily manipulate the sound to play anything from lead, to commercial, and even certain orchestral parts. I will certainly be purchasing more from Wedge in the future. -Joseph M.

 

Bass Trombone Mouthpieces 

110G Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Amazing mouthpiece, don't want to change back anymore.

Date: January 2021

I'm very happy with this amazing mouthpiece. The curved shape will take a little time to get used to, but right away you can feel it urges you to play high with little lip pressure against the rim (giving more open high notes), while the low register still plays as it should on this nice vintage Bass Trombone. It tempts me to start practicing more after this silent 2020. I'm confident this Wedge will make it easier for me to play Bass and Tenor on the same large bore instrument with this "110G Gen 2 Bass Trombone Mouthpiece". Due to the requested special Remington shank for my "new" 1961 Conn 72H, I had to wait quite a bit. The 1st one was delivered with a normal Remington shank length, only to find out that Remington shanks also existed in longer version. Without complaints Dr. Dave figured out new specs from my additionally send measurements and sent a complete new piece to the Netherlands (this time I upgraded to gold plated since I already was confident fan of the curved Wedge Rim). P.s. I never realized how much sound difference a properly sized shank would make. This old beauty seems to have been played mostly with a standard shank mouthpiece, so with a wobbly fit due to wrong cone angle. Sound was nice enough, but now much broader (more overtones). Maybe most important is that smoothly starting soft tones and intonation are right away notably easier. What I figured to be a weakened embouchure problem, turned out to be simply caused by wrong shank fit. Very happy with this mouthpiece and the silky feel of its gold plating. Thanks Wedge team !

 

114XD Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review 

Title: 114XD Bass Trombone Mouthpiece

Date: November 2020

I have tested many bass trombone mouthpieces (Schilke 51D - Mach 1-1/4G - Bach 2G - STORK CUSTOM 1). I am satisfied with this mouthpiece which allows me to obtain an excellent sound both I the bass and in the treble on my bass trombone Bach Stradivarius model 50 BLG. This is the first mouthpiece with the oval crown that I have found on the market. Nice technical innovation. - Pierre

 

114D Bass Trombone Mouthpiece – Delrin  

5 star review

Title: Bass Trombone

Date: September 2020

I found a used Wedge 11C on eBay. It was cheap, so I bought it. I found it very comfortable with a good sound. I’m a doubler. I play three horns every day: bass trombone, large bore tenor and small bore tenor. One very surpising thing about the Wege 11c is that I was a monster on pedals. I could play down to a pedal E. So I called up Dr. Dave and decided on a 114D in Delrin for my bass trombone. I also bought a tone adjuster. With the 114D I can get down to pedal E, but it’s a little bit of a stretch. With the Shilke 50, it’s not stretch but the Shilke tone is a little bright for my taste. So, I’m happy with the 114D. I’m planning on buying a Wedge for my large bore tenor. To be continued. PS: three members of my brass quintet have bought Wedges. -Silas Y

 

108G Gen 2 Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review 

Title: 108G Gen2 Bass trombone mouthpiece

Date: August 2020

My personal experience stems from brain surgery in 2001 that left one side of my face looking like a Bell's Palsy episode, and I was unable to even get a sound out of my horn. The previous 25 years I had played using a Bach 1 1/2 G, but after years of slogging away in the back room and getting some muscle tone in my embouchure, I could once again make some sense out of my sound, but it was still pretty fuzzy. The unique cup-to-rim radius in the horizontal axis of the Harrison 108 G definitely helped me with my attacks, tone production and flexibility. A KEEPER ! -James A

  

108G Gen 2 Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: The New Range

Date: July 2020 

On several levels the Wedge is delivering renewed pleasure in practicing and playing the Bass Trombone. Opportunities to "get lower" with ease, broaden the quality of the sound and deliver a stronger "bottom-end" to our Jazz Band Ensemble are happening whilst giving a renewal as a T-Bone player since the early seventies.....with a couple of decades of missed practicing under my belt. Unique in the T Bone section the Bass T just resonates so firmly whilst blending easily as the mouthpiece provides a lot of flexibility to "shape" the music on demand..... Highly recommend it for all levels , especially those of us with lots of tunes in our head and less air in our lungs....it breathes very easy. Thank you Wedgers!! -Michael P

 

114XD Bass Trombone Mouthpiece – Acrylic 

4 star review 

Title: So far so good

Date: June 2020

I’m still testing out the new mouthpiece. It takes a bit more work in the embouchure as it’s bigger than my 1G. I definitely notice the ease of the low register. It’s surprisingly easier on the high register though. -David M

 

114XD Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

3 star review 

Title: My experience

Date: June 2020

I did try it for 2 weeks nothing realy changed so i don't experience anny change in sound or duration or whatever It is a beatiful polished part but that was not where i am looking for at this moment -Anton G

 

114XD Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Wedge 114 XD bass trombone mouthpiece

Date: March 2020 

I have spent the last three years searching for the ideal bass trombone mouthpiece. I have bought eight of them and found, out of the 8 ,two very good ones. However, the wedge 114 XD is by far the best of the bunch. It is excellent for endurance, comfort, slotting into the note with good articulation and is great for both the high and low register which is required for the bass trombone and this is very unusual. I highly recommend this mouthpiece and encourage any bass trombone musician to try it. -Glenn B

 

108G Bass Trombone Mouthpiece - Acrylic 

5 star review

Title: Instant effect

Date: February 2020

Once I started playing my Wedge I felt the difference - I reach deeper and higher. And I dont get as tired while playing. Thumbs up. My friend Marte ordered one when she heard about my experience with the Wedge. -Ingeborg K

 

108G Gen 2 Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: A delightful Surprise

Date: February 2020

This is the first Wedge piece I have tried and a few short weeks later I have 3 more on the way if that says anything about how I felt about this one! I was shocked at how comfortable it was while managing to be more flexible than my standard shaped 1.5G. Can't wait to get the other ones I ordered!-Matthew B

 

1G Bass Trombone Mouthpiece (Discontinued)

5 star review

Title: Excellent mouthpiece

Date: January 2020

Excellent mouthpiece, I am very happy with your product. -Branislav A

 

S59 Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

3 star review

Title: Bite but tight!

Date: September 2019 

Great bite in low reg., but feels too tight and unflexible for mid-high range. Could be crackling in a big band setting if you can deal with this tighter throat design. -Nick S.

 

114XD Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Very good mouthpiece

Date: August 2019

I play 30D and SJ for the tuba. With the 114XD I now have a mouthpiece of bass trombone easy to play with a great sound. I like the result on euphonium -Guillaume D.

 

110G Bass Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: 110G Bass trombone mouthpiece review 

Date: June 2019

The mouthpiece itself is very comfortable. I played on a bach 1/2G and Schilke 59 after that. I always had discomfort and noticeable pain and could never figure out why. With the my new Wedge, those issue have subsided immensely and I enjoy playing my instrument more. -Nathan H.

 

Trombone Tone Modifiers

Tone Modifier for Small and Medium Shank Trombone Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Tone Modifier

Date: November 2020

I started using a Wedge 11c (from eBay) without a tone modifier. The 11c introduced me to the Wedge concept. It worked so well on my small bore horn that I bought Delrin Wedges for my bass trombone and Conn 88hcl. I liked the sound of the 11c without the Tone Modifier but was afraid it might be a blending problem with the trombone section in the jazz band. When I got the tone modifier a few weeks ago, I began using it all the time. Non trombone players can’t seem to hear any difference, but I hear a pretty radical difference. The tone is more compact. It might also be that the mouthpiece slots better. I recently bought a Delrin 100al for my Conn. I asked the Horn player in my brass quintet about the sound with and without the Tone Modifier. He felt the sound with the Tone Modifier was much better than the sound without. He’s a good player and I trust his judgement. The bottom line is that I’m using a tone modifier on all three Wedge mouthpieces -Silas Y­ 

 

Tone Modifier for Large/Remington Shank Trombone and Euphonium Mouthpiece 

5 star review 

Title: Tone modifier for 114D mouthpiece 

Date: July 2020

I was happy with the silver-plated 114D Wedge bass trombone mouthpiece I had purchased previously, but was curious to see whether the tone modifier might provide even further improvement. Because of Wedge's risk-free trial policy, I purchased the tone modifier. To my pleasant surprise, the difference was really quite noticeable, and very positive. My experience with mouthpieces in general is that a heavier shank facilitates the type of sound I want, and the tone modifier provides exactly that effect. It is extremely easy to apply and remove, using the small key that Wedge provides with it. I would definitely recommend giving the tone modifier a try. -Marty F 

 

Trombone Screw Rims

XT 102 Trombone Screw Rim 

Title: Thank You

Date: December 2020 

I recently ordered an XT102 rim and have been playing on it for several weeks. Several playing aspects have improved to the point of making this rim a "keeper", but most importantly I believe it helped clear up a response issue that was plaguing me for weeks. 

I would put the instrument to my face, tongue and blow, and nothing would come out except a puff of air. This was happening all over my middle range and I was quite disconcerted; it was so bad I wondered if I would be able to play anymore. I tried everything - more rest, buzzing, icing my chops, approaching the middle register from above and below, and more rest - but the only constant was the puff of air. Note also that my upper lip felt like I had put it through a three hour concert every time I tried to play. I was really concerned. 

The Wedge solved my problem. It didn't happen the first day, but gradually the middle range came back and that feeling of an overworked upper lip dissipated. I am still careful about appropriate rest, but I am back to playing without the lip soreness and with a middle register. Now I am able to see increases in range, flexibility, sound, and endurance. If your product didn't work I have no idea what I would have done except perhaps taking up fiddle.. Thank you. -Michael K.

 

XT 106 Trombone Screw Rim 

5 star review

Title: Excellent

Date: April 2020

This rims fits my Doug Elliott XT cups/shanks just fine. I much prefer this rim to the standard DE XTN106 rim I was using before. IMHO, the Wedge rim shape effectively combines the stability and endurance of a wide rim profile with the flexibility of a narrow rim. -Jim H

  

LT 100 Trombone Screw Rim

5 star review 

Title: 2nd LT100 Screw Rim

Date: March 2020 

I purchased this rim to have a spare for my second 100C mouthpiece. The consistency between the 2 rims is indiscernible. -Joseph P

 

LT 102 Trombone Screw Rim – Plastic

5 star review

Title: Great Rim

Date: November 2019

I originally bought this rim to use for playing outside in the cold, but once I started to play on it I found out what exactly was different about the Wedge mouthpiece. The rim itself felt smaller, but since it was designed to fit my lips my slotting throughout the horn was much easier and made playing all around the horn a much easier experience. It took some time to adjust to this new design and hurt my endurance slightly at first, but once this adjustment period was over the rewards were well worth the wait. -Robert B.

  

Trombone Screw-Rims 

5 star review.

Title: Screw-able trombone rims

Date: August 2019

I was delighted with the work and for me Wedge is the only time I want to play. It has played trombone playing more fun. -Stephen M.

 

XT 104 Trombone Screw Rim

5 star review

Title: XT 104 Trombone Screw Rim

Date: September 2018

As soon as I put this rim on my lips I sensed a noticeable improvement. My sound was more full with more core. Overall it feels easier to get around the horn. Range is improved both low and high. At times I was using larger 105 and 106 rims in the past in order to play the low range more easily, but with the way the Wedge rim is curved to fit my face I can use a smaller rim down low, which also improves my endurance and high register. I noticed that my articulation became cleaner with less clammed notes too! I can safely say that I won’t be going back to my old mouthpieces. The Wedge is here to stay! -Jeffrey G.