null

Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Reviews

Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Tops - Flugelhorn Shanks - Flugelhorn One Piece Mouthpieces

Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Tops  

64FLC Flugel Mouthpiece Top

5 star review

Title: The sounds I was looking for. 

Date: December 2020

Nice to have the consistent feel in rim diameter, going from trumpet, cornet, flugelhorn. Plus, the sound I was looking for. Thanks! -Rodney S 

 

65FLC Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top

5 star review

Title: Flugelhorn and trumpet

Date: December 2020

I bought the 65FLC Flugelhorn Top and Shanks for both my Yamaha Flugelhorn and my Bach Trumpet. On my flugelhorn the mouthpiece is great at slotting notes, gives me a tone that rings with clarity, and gives me a trumpet range on the high end. On the trumpet it mellows my tone and allows me to add variety to the styles I play. It is a wonderful mouthpiece! - Edward B

  

66FLD Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: Excellent

Date: September 2020

Intonation is good, endurance is good love playing it. -David F

 

65FLC Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top – Plastic 

5 star review

Title: Plastic????

Date: August 2020

I bought a copy of the flugelhorn mouthpiece in plastic mostly out of curiosity. I bought it also in brass (silver) so I have both, but find I always seem to grab the plastic, as it seems to grab me…..way comfortable. My thanks to Dr Dave for the suggestion. I’m thinking of maybe next trying the plastic for trumpet. My chops continue to improve through careful practice and breathing and have experienced an increase in both range and endurance. -Richard P

 

665FLS Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top – Plastic 

5 star review

Title: Earned 5 Stars

Date: June 2020

Had a great time using this Flugel top! Love the selection of sizes and measurements (cause I’m a gearhead) and even though I got a top that was too small for me, I could still play it really easily and naturally. And shoutout to the customer service too, I could easily do an exchange for a size that better fit me -Ben A

 

64FLC Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top – Plastic 

4 star review

Title: Flugelhorn Mouthpiece

Date: June 2020

When I received this mouthpiece I was very impressed with the increase in the sound quality of my Flugel. It took on a rich dark sound that I was looking for. The Plastic top is very comfortable. A little patience may be required to enjoy the full benefits of this design as it is asymmetrical... cheers! -Nathan S

 

68FLC Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: Unusual product!

Date: June 2020

I am still getting used to these mouthpieces but I can already say they are worth a try!!! The notes seem to slot in much better... I wanted to give up on these after day 1 but now I am starting to see there might be something here!!! -Jan R

 

66FLC Flugelhorn Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: Worth a try!

Date: June 2020

I played lead trumpet for the Army, Air Force and the Air National Guard for over 30 years and thought I was pretty settled in on mouthpiece choice. I now have 3 Wedge mouthpieces. 66S (Chuck Findlay model), 66MS, and now 66 FLC - flugelhorn. These are incredible mouthpieces. 1st thing I noticed was the improved sound, then improved endurance and comfort. Great customer service and return policy. Well worth a try. I’m hooked! -Jeff S

 

66FLS Wedge Flugelhorn / British Cornet Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: Flugelhorn mouthpiece

Date: May 2020

Excellent product a close match to my Wedge trumpet mouthpiece. Improved stamina alone is worth the price. Dr. Dave has hit on a genius idea with the Wedge. Couldn’t be happier -Jim M. Moncton NB

 

66FLC Wedge Flugelhorn / British Cornet Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: Flugelhorn mouthpiece

Date: March 2020

Dr. Dave’s concept of design is truly remarkable. This is the fourth of his mouthpieces I have purchased. I have found them to be superior to my previous mouthpiece that I had used for over forty years. My range has not diminished. They produce a rich sonorous sound and pitch and note slotting are great. -Richard P

 

Plastic Flugelhorn Top 

5 star review

Title: Magic one, you can't miss it

Date: Feb 2020

Customer from Taiwan When I bought it three months ago, like most people feeling," try another brand again" hope the new one feels better after sweet period. And yes, wedge mouthpiece isn't disappointed to me. the rim design is totally a revolution design. something changes to me as below: 1 Use the old mouthpiece, when the air is not good flow enough,it sounds not good enough,or we'll make more pressure, overblow trumpet. Wedge rim design won't let you overblow easily , even on your bad time, the rim design can adjust your lip back to your best way. 2 most of time we can't feel it until the sounds become badly . When you have a gig or a show, wedge mouthpiece could let you know it's time to stop,even support you to the end of a gig, and get the minimal miss of notes. TRY ONE! the company policy makes the mouthpieces valuable even several years later! -Patrick W

 

64 FLC Flugel Top - Delrin 

5 star review

Title: 64 FLC Top with 19 trumpet shank - you’ll love the sound! 

Date: June 2019
I recently purchased the FLC top in delrin and used it with the recommended 19 throat trumpet shank for a short trumpet solo in concert band. I debated using a flugelhorn, but went with this combination in the trumpet. It produced an extremely dark, full orchestral sound that carried very well in the large auditorium . . . tone was better than I’ve ever sounded. -Christopher B.

 

Flugelhorn Shanks 

Flugelhorn Shank 

5 star review

Title: Flugelhorn and trumpet

Date: December 2020

I bought the 65FLC Flugelhorn Top and Shanks for both my Yamaha Flugelhorn and my Bach Trumpet. On my flugelhorn the mouthpiece is great at slotting notes, gives me a tone that rings with clarity, and gives me a trumpet range on the high end. On the trumpet it mellows my tone and allows me to add variety to the styles I play. It is a wonderful mouthpiece! - Edward B

 

One Piece Flugelhorn Mouthpiece - Trumpet Shank 

5 star review

Title: Flugelhorn Mouthpiece to match

Date: November 2020

Covid has kept me from performing since March 2020. I just needed this to match my trumpet mouthpiece (new to the Wedge). Both are comfortable and at 68 years old I’m feeling good about playing. Did a session (out doors with social distancing) with the horn section in my band. Went very well. Hope to play these new Wedge mouthpieces on a four hour job someday. I’m thinking of ordering the S for trumpet soon. -Dave M

 

Flugelhorn Shank 

5 star review

Title: Excellent

Date: September 2020

In the last 3 weeks back practice in group...endurance is good , intonation is good. -David F

 

Flugelhorn Shank 

5 star review

Title: Super Mouthpiece

Date: September 2020

I have two of them and I love to use. Positive are flexibility and comfortable design. Thanks – Alberto V

 

Flugelhorn Shank 

5 star review

Title: Two piece flugelhorn mouthpiece works great!

Date: April 2020

Never having touched a flugelhorn before and certainly never having blown one, I asked Dave for a recommendation because the Shielke and Bach mouthpieces that came with new (used) flugelhorn just weren't working. Dave recommend the standard sized shank and the 66FLC top because the 66MDV trumpet mouthpiece works so well for me. I've never had a 2 piece mouthpiece before so I was a little leary of it, but now that I've got one, I love it! I see why Dave recommended the 2 piece; one can more easily and more cheaply switch between tops. Anyway, the 66FLC delivers the same big, deep and rich sound on the flugelhorn as the 66MDV does on the trumpet. I love the 66 size rim because it is wide and seems to float on my lips and not dig in causing fatigue. I use the mouthpiece horizontally because my face is so narrow. The 66FlC is deep so it takes a different approach than the trumpet, so this is going to take some getting used to. But the new Wedge mouthpiece does exactly what Dave represented. Thanks again Dave! -John T

 

Flugelhorn Shank 

5 star review

Title: Flugelhorn mouthpiece

Date: March 2020

Dr. Dave’s concept of design is truly remarkable. This is the fourth of his mouthpieces I have purchased. I have found them to be superior to my previous mouthpiece that I had used for over forty years. My range has not diminished. They produce a rich sonorous sound and pitch and note slotting are great. -Richard P

 

Flugelhorn Shanks

5 star review

Title: Two different shanks

Date: July 2020

These flugelhorn mouthpiece shanks (1 for British cornet and 1 for trumpet) have been very useful and made it possible to use the same top with different types of horns. -Rainer W.

  

Flugelhorn One Piece Mouthpieces 

Plastic Flugelhorn One Piece Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: 66FLC mouthpiece

Date: February 2020

I started to use my new mouthpiece and I appreciated immediately its caracheristics with respect to a standard Bach 3C mouthpiece. The sound is warm and the flexibility really improved. Recommend choice -Giovanna G

 

65FL One Piece Flugelhorn Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: 65FL Flugelhorn mouthpiece

Date: November 2019

A very positive result using the Wedge Flugel mouthpiece. Certainly improved endurance in playing. And a better range. I have now several Wedge mouthpieces for different instruments and I have them very helpful indeed. -Robert R.

 

65FL One Piece Flugelhorn Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: 65FL Flugelhorn mouthpiece

Date: November 2019

A very positive result using the Wedge Flugel mouthpiece. Certainly improved endurance in playing. And a better range. I have now several Wedge mouthpieces for different instruments and I have them very helpful indeed. -Robert R.

 

65FL One Piece Flugelhorn Mouthpiece 

5 star review.

Title: 65FL Flugelhorn mouthpiece

Date: November 2019

A very positive result using the Wedge Flugel mouthpiece. Certainly improved endurance in playing. And a better range. I have now several Wedge mouthpieces for different instruments and I have them very helpful indeed. -Robert Roy B.

 

66FL Flugelhorn One Piece Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: YESSSSSS !!!

Date: September 2020

Heyyyy Dr. Dave.....I freakin' LOVE your mouthpiece ! After trying about 30 mouthpieces during my 70 years of playing trumpet....I am done lookin' , man ! You have THE " gift ".... Thank you sooooo very much ! My website....www.peterwelker.com Luv ya , my brotha !!!! -Peter 

 

67FL One Piece Flugelhorn Mouthpiece - French Shank 

5 star review

Title: Wonderful flugel mouthpiece!!

Date: August 2019

Like the other Wedges I am using, with this flugelhorn mouthpiece the positive results were instantaneous! The soft, smooth response is very impressive and pleasurable. Gorgeous sound! The big surprise is that, notwithstanding the fact that the cup is considerably deeper than what I was previously playong on, the upper register is easier to keep up to pitch! It really does make playing easier and more efficient. Again, the change to the new equipment was of the "never look back" kind. Fantastic products. -Michael A.

 

65FLS One Piece Flugelhorn Mouthpiece - Standard Shank 

5 star review

Title: A bit of a surprise

Date: July 2020

Well I read all the copy from the site and had a reasonable idea of the technology but it was going to come down to the playing. What I found out quickly was the rich sound, slots and overall tone was what I always desired. I knew that this sound was truly my voice. I had to sacrifice a bit of the upper register but the trade off was cool. Also my endurance had substantially changed and it took a lot of the pressure off of live performance. -Ron H.

 

66FLS Flugel One Piece Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: 66FLS Flugel Mouthpiece 

Date: July 2019

Much more efficient use of airflow through the mouthpiece. Much more range and note attack acuity. -John H.

 

65FLC Flugel One Piece Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: My flugelhorn mouthpiece 

Date: June 2019

Very much an improvement -Alan W.

 

Drozdoff One Piece Flugel Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: Focus and Flexibility 

Date: June 2019

Excellent. I already had a delrin version of the same mouthpiece, and it seems to me I get more focus, flexibility, and stability using the brass/silver version. It's also a very well-made product, with fine customer service. -Mark M.