null

Euphonium Mouthpiece Reviews

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: Euphonium

Date: September 2020

Ordered the 101E, a slight bit bigger than my 51D but worked pretty well. Exchanging it for a 100G which is a slight bit smaller than my 51D. Communication and help from Harrison was very good. Can't wait to get the slightly smaller mouthpiece. Will report back when the new one comes in. -Richard J

 

102 E Euphonium Mouthpiece - Acrylic 

5 star review

Title: Embouchure First Aid

Date: August 2020

Really like what the Wedge does for my playing. I’m 64 and noticed a weakness developing in my bottom lip/jaw area. The Wedge forces me to focus more on keeping the jaw extended thus much less broken tone. One concern was the tone quality. I’ve been playing on a Denis Wick which gives a solid deep voice to low notes without sacrificing the upper register. No problem! Can’t really tell any difference. -Mark F

 

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: 101E EUPHONIUM MOUTHPIECE

Date: June 2020

So far i have only been able to use the mouthpiece for home practice due to COVID19 meaning Brass Bands in the UK can no longer meet to rehearse My initial impression is very good and i have found the transition very easy Can’t wait to be able to try it in a full band rehearsal -Ian F

 

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: 101E Euphonium Mouthpiece

Date: June 2020

I have had extensive dental treatment and have struggled to fine a mouthpiece in which I felt comfortable with in the upper register. I received the 101E and played my Euphonium straight away. The first note I hit was a upper range C. I was amazed and delighted. Goos range and comfortable. No hesitation in recommending the Wedge 101E -Brian L

 

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

3 star review

Title: Baritone horn

Date: April 2020

I started by playing my normal warm-up exercises and then went on to play other tunes I had played with previous mouthpiece. Found a bit more sustainability in the higher ranges and a bit less for maneuvering in the lower notes. I'm a bit out of shape due to our band's cancellation but the mouthpiece seems to be worthwhile and I judge it a "keeper", -Frank W

 

103E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

3 star review

Title: Good mouthpiece

Date: January 2020

I have used the 103E euro shank for about 6 months. My normal mouthpiece has a 103 rim and DR. Dave recommended that I try the 102E. This was too small, I had a lot of trouble in the low register and no high range improvement. I exchanged for a 103E, which is better with regard to the low range, but no real improvement in high range or flexibility as compared with my usual mouthpiece. The fit and finish of the mouthpiece is high quality. But, compared to almost every other mouthpiece that i have, the thickness of the end of the shank is greater. Some people believe that the this thickness should be minimized to achieve a smoother transition from shank to receiver. Not sure how much difference this makes, but just be aware. Also, I would definitely recommend staying at at least the same size as your conventional rim. The horizontal axis of the mouthpiece is smaller than the nominal rim measurement. So, if you order a 103, the axis of the rim that goes along your lip aperture is smaller than 103. Another issue that I have is the rim contour. For me, it is quite sharp and fairly uncomfortable. I wish that various rim contours were offered. The cup depth is between an SM4 Ultra and and SM4X. The throat and backbore are quite large, so the sound lacks a bit or core, but has a pleasant "pillowy" quality. Looking back, I wish i had returned this during the return period. I did not receive any significant improvements in range or endurance. For me, any advantage of the mouthpiece did not justify the shortcomings and the high price. -Mike

 

103E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Un très bon concept

Date: December 2019

J’ai acheter une embouchure pour le trombone et leuphonium, je joue 6,5 AL sur le trombone et 103 E pour euphonium, on gagne en endurance, en qualité et son ( en largeur pour être plus précis, son plus large et plus riche ) et en confort, par contre je pense que la marque gagnerai à se développer et à proposer ses embouchure de différents poids, je trouve également Le prix un peu élever pour une qualité de finition qui reste bonne mais pas exceptionnel, je pense notamment que le sachet enveloppant l’embouchure pourrais être de meilleur qualité , on pourrai imaginer les embouchures livrer dans un vrais étui pratique signer wedge... une version en plaquer or au lieux de l’argent pourrai également être une bonne idée, quoi qu’il en sois un très bonne achat, une très bonne embouchure ! -Grégoire C.

 

102E Euphonium Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: Companion mp, medium shank, to the 102E I already using

Date: November 2019

Very pleased with the 102E, large shank, I decided to invest in a medium shank mp for an old B&H Imperial euphonium I use for outdoor playing. So far only used on rehearsals I feel it is as comfortable to play on as the large shank. I am very proud of the sonorous sound it produces and looking forward to next summer season. -Frisk M.

 

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: 101E Euphonium Mouthpiece

Date: November 2019

I am finding the Wedge very enjoyable, my upper register is much clearer. Only had it for a month so still getting used to the difference but well worth getting. Would recommend to anyone looking for something and not finding it in what is available locally. With the refund if not suitable takes away the worry of spending a lot of money then finding the mouthpiece didn't suit. Thank you awesome company to deal with. -Paula B.

 

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece - Delrin Plastic

5 star review

Title: Better range

Date: November 2019

For me, the Deleon mouthpiece was comfortable right away. It extended my range on the bass trombone. I’m glad I purchased it. -Mary W.

 

Walsh 104E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: A great mouthpiece

Date: October 2019

I’ve been playing brass instruments for 45 years some of that time as a professional euphonium player. I purchased a wedge mouthpiece and got on with it straight away. It feels light and provides great lip flexibility. My sound across my range has been complemented by other players of long standing. I played a solo on a recent recording and took the plunge using my wedge mouthpiece after five days of practicing. The CD has been reviewed and my solo was picked out for special mention, thank you Dr Dave for a great mouthpiece, always happy to give feedback and help other players. -Rodney K.

 

Unspecified Euphonium Mouthpiece 

4 star review

Title: Euphonium mouthpiece for trombone player

Playing both trombone, sackbut and euphonium is a challenge to find a euphonium mouthpiece supporting intonation, range and sound. I have tried many mouthpieces and finally I got this. It is a mouthpiece that really gives me good confidence in the upper register, it is comfortable to play on and the rim grip really fits me. What I have really not got used to is the sound that is more compact then playing on Denis Wick SM mouthpieces, but since I am not a brass band player but playing in wind and symphony orchestras this is not a big problem, for outdoor playing it is even a feature. The mouthpiece also gives you freedom to alter your playing and adapt it is just a matter of practicing and with the extended endurance that this mouthpiece gives it just makes it fun. I am playing on a Adams euphonium but also on a vintage Boosey & Hawkes Imperial, next step for me is to order the same mouthpiece but with medium sized shank. -M Frisk

 

101E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Great Product

Date: August 2019

This is my third mouthpiece. I have 2 large bore for my euphonium and bass trombone and 1 small bore for my trombone. Its a great product -Brian W.

 

104E Euphonium Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Love my Wedge 104E Euphonium Mouthpiece 
Date: June 2019
The Wedge 104E is a really good match to my ADAMS E3 euphonium (Sterling Silver bell). The sound is round, mellow and really big. I love the feeling the rim gives me (the 26.4 rim feels a little bit smaller then a SM3U/SM3X but extremely comfortable). I Noticed that flexibility became instantly easier. Benefits of the wedge are for me: - More endurance + Not more actual range, but more usable range (high range with good tone quality) - Increased Flexibility Thanks Wedge for a wonderful product! -Tim M

 

102E Euphonium Mouthpiece

5 star review 

Title: Great piece!

Date: August 2018 

I find the 102E to be the best match for my vintage Sovereign euphonium. Dr. Dave suggested I try a slightly smaller inner diameter than I would normally play based on my own evaluation of my playing. With the Wedge rim I get the clarity and fantastic flexibility of a smaller mouthpiece, with the extra room and bigger sound provided by the oval shape. There was a bit of an acclimation period for me, but it was worth the wait. Wedge mouthpieces are different, and worth a try in my book! -Jason D.