null

Cornet Mouthpiece Reviews

Regular Cornet Mouthpieces and Tops - Regular Cornet Backbores

British Cornet Mouthpieces and Tops - British Cornet Backbores

 

Regular Cornet Tops 

64 Cornet Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: A proper embouchure investment

Date: November 2020 

My tone has never sounded more controlled and full before now! I would like to get a Trumpet shank for the 64 top! -William H

  

66 Cornet Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: 66CornetTop

Date: September 2020

Since receiving my Wedge 66 Cornet top, I’ve been working back and forth between it and a Bach 1.5C. Not that the Bach isn’t playable, it’s just that the Wedge is noticeably more comfortable. I feel i can play in a more relaxed manner. Glad I tried it. -John C

 

64 Cornet Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: Right fit. Right feel. Right sound.

Date: July 2020

Was just the right size to make switching back and forth with my 64M trumpet top easy. Wedge familiar feel works great for my chops. Cup shape and backbore work together to get the cornet sound I was looking for. Thanks! -Rodney S

  

65 Cornet Mouthpiece Top

5 star review

Title: Great cornet top!

Date: November 2019

Easy to switch back and forth between this and my 65M trumpet top. Nice mellow cornet sound. Thanks! -Rodney S.

 

67 Cornet Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review 

Title: Great mouthpiece

Date: October 2019 

I had already bought a trumpet mouthpiece, and after trying this one I defenetly fell in love with these mouthpieces! The sound is more powerful then any other mouthpiece. -Luca M.

  

Regular Cornet Backbores

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore  

5 star review

Title: Enjoying Playing on the Wedge.

Date: October 2020

It takes only moments to get the feel of the difference in shape of the wedge mouthpiece and only moments more to confirm that you made the right decision to buy one. Even though I've been using the mouthpiece (acrylic version) for only a few weeks it has made a significant (positive) difference to my playing and I'm enjoying playing on it. -Stephen A

 

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore  

5 star review

Title: Great Product

Date: September 2020

I have a Yamaha Cornet and I bought a regular cornet backbore with a 65MDV trumpet top and from the moment I started using this mouthpiece I found I could hit the centre of the notes better and, as advertised, my endurance was much better. I can recover quicker from tired lips and I can play longer than before. Also I'm gradually extending my range little by little. I sometimes play with the old mouthpiece, but it feels odd now and I immediately go back to the Wedge mouthpiece. The trumpet top makes the cornet have a brighter sound which is important in a concert band. -Robert  

 

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore

5 star review

Title: Training wheels

Date: June 2020

All good. I am developing my embrasure. I’m 73 and have never played an instrument. This has made it easier for me to make progress. -Ed C

  

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore 

5 star review

Title: Happy customer 

Date: March 2020

Top quality backbore -Ron L

 

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore 

5 star review

Title: Great addition

Date: March 2020

So glad I decided to give this a try. Better range right from the start and took next to no time to get used to! -Brenden McL 

 

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore 

5 star review

Title: Great Backbore!!!!!

Date: March 2020 

I use this with my Piccolo Trumpet (P5-4). Paired with a 65S I'm getting better articulations, endurance and range then my old mouthpiece. I haven't used it with a deeper cup for cornet yet, but I'm looking forward to it. An absolute improvement on what I think is an amazing mouthpiece in the Schilke Symphony P6. -Jeff L

 

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore 

5 star review

Title: Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore - the perfect fit!

Date: September 2019

The Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore was the perfect solution when I was looking for a suitable cornet top and backbone combination for my B&S Brochon Cornet. The Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore is beautifully made and fitted perfectly with my cornets mouthpiece receiver. -Greg H.

  

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore

5 star review

Title: Delivers on their promises

Date: August 2019 

Dr Dave was extremely help on selecting the right product. When I received put it to immediate use. Product preformed as promised. -Vernon L.

  

Wedge Regular Cornet Backbore

5 star review

Title: Cornet Back bore with a 25 Throat

Date: September 2018
After consultation with Dr. Dave I purchased this item to use with a 66 MDV Trumpet top to replace my Giardinelli 3vm cornet mouthpiece. I have used the same mouthpiece for almost 45 years so I was a little apprehensive. The process was very easy and I am very pleased with it. -Richard P.

 

British Cornet Mouthpieces and Tops 

67 One Piece British Cornet Mouthpiece – Plastic 

5 star review

Title: It is like magic....

Date: November 2020 

I am a comeback player. In the last two months I have been playing with Yamaha 16E (lovely tone!), DW3B and tried a few others, but I was having range and endurance issues. I received my wedge mouthpiece on the day I am joining a local brass band. After testing the mouthpiece during the day, I felt very confident that I will be able to last through my first rehearsal after many years, and I did! Now that I have played my wedge mouthpiece for about a mouth, I have no hesitation to recommend it. I experienced the advantages of the wedge mouthpiece that are listed on this website. As Dr Dave said, everyone should give it a try! In fact, I have placed another order to buy one for my daughter who found it to be the best mouthpiece too after trying out all the mouthpieces in my small mouthpiece collection (Wedge 67, Yamaha 16E, DW4, DW3B, JP603 4B, Besson 7). -Ching Y T

 

67D One Piece British Cornet Mouthpiece (10-2020) 

5 star review

Title: Exactly what the advertising says 

When purchasing this mouthpiece I didn’t know whether I could believe all the hype, but now, in my experience, it is all true. I have been playing brass instruments for over 60 years, mostly sitting on the solo cornet bench of brass bands in the UK and NZ. After a few minutes the mouthpiece felt similar to and more comfortable than my Denis Wick #3. The Denis Wick gives my very early Getzen Eterna (1978?) a luxurious deep dark tone almost as if it is trying to be a flugel. However I have always had difficulty pitching above top G. After about 20 minutes experimentation my impression was that the tone seemed thinner, by that I mean more clear, focussed and actually more consistent with other members of the front row. Ease of working at the top end of range improved considerably and immediately. After a few weeks I can say that the range is extending and the C above the stave is achievable and getting more reliable The lower end tone is starting to fill out a little, it will be interesting to see how far this develops. I shall try working on it as I feel the warmth of sound really comes into its own in slow melody solo work.. With this mouthpiece the instrument now feels much more agile and responsive. I can now play for much longer sessions with less worry about running out of lip. Definitely an excellent mouthpiece that does all that is claimed. A qualified 5 stars because of my current concern about losing some of the warmth of sound, even though the sound produced is superb anyway, Hope this helps someone. -Dr C

 

Discounted B1.25C British Cornet Mouthpiece (Discontinued)

5 star review

Title: Wedge mouthpiece

Date: August 2020

Excellent product and service. -Treena M 

 

67D One Piece British Cornet Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: First time Wedge - 67D cornet 

Date: July 2020

Simply fantastic piece of kit. Delivered promptly to the UK despite lockdown. I received advice on which MP to choose from Dr. Dave, who knew my requirements and concerns exactly, taking into account my current playing skill level and what sound quality I was after. An expensive MP choice for an amateur but I'm glad I did. I will definitely consider another Wedge as I might look at the slightly smaller size in time but at the moment the 67D does everything I need it to. Beautiful, smooth, full sound and no compromise in my overall playing range. -Daniel P

 

66D One Piece British Cornet Mouthpiece

5 star review

Title: Wedge British Cornet Mouthpiece

Date: November 2019

I have been using Wedge mouthpieces since 2013. First for my trumpet and later for my Flugelhorn. Recently, I was asked to join a British style brass band playing my cornet and use a British mouthpiece. Since I was very comfortable with Wedge mouthpieces that had matching rims, I decided to order a 66D British Cornet Mouthpiece. It turned out to be the right decision as it matched the sound that the band was playing. Wedge mouthpieces are a unique design that allows excellent intonation, flexibility, range and comfort not always achieve on the more traditional mouthpieces for me. -Jim C.

 

66D One Piece British Cornet Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Wedge British Cornet Mouthpiece

Date: November 2019

I have been using Wedge mouthpieces since 2013. First for my trumpet and later for my Flugelhorn. Recently, I was asked to join a British style brass band playing my cornet and use a British mouthpiece. Since I was very comfortable with Wedge mouthpieces that had matching rims, I decided to order a 66D British Cornet Mouthpiece. It turned out to be the right decision as it matched the sound that the band was playing. Wedge mouthpieces are a unique design that allows excellent intonation, flexibility, range and comfort not always achieve on the more traditional mouthpieces for me. -Jim C.

 

66 British Cornet Mouthpiece Top - Plastic 

5 star review

Title: Great service!

Date: August 2019

I`m happy so far, I got my 66 British cornet plastic cup few days ago. -Ivar (from Norway )

 

65 British Cornet Mouthpiece Top 

5 star review

Title: Nice 

Date: July 2019

Best cornet mouthpiece I have tried -Erlend A.

  

62 One Piece British Cornet Mouthpiece 

5 star review

Title: Very nice improvement of tone

Date: July 2019

I play in a British style Brass Band in the front bench. A very demanding part with frequent solo work. I didn’t need any acclimation time. It worked right away. I was able to get a greatly improved tone in the middle of the horn and a very solid low register. I’m very pleased with the Wedge and other players are noticing, so I expect more players to put orders in. It would be nice to see you folks at NABBA in April. All the best players in North America will be there.  -Eric C.

 

British Cornet Backbores

British (Short) Cornet Backbore 

5 star review

Title: Wedge mouthpieces

Date: July 2019

Best mouthpieces I have ever played! -Erlend A.